When editing the content of a page you will see a version of the page template, with editing tools added.
At the top of the page you will see (from left to right):
- The Treeline logo
- Below the logo, and pulldown list of alternative page styles. Note this is not a way to change to a new template, it is simply a way to turn on/off some elements within the template you have selected.
- On the right side, a link to help files.
- Below this, you will see links to Discard changes, Preview and Save changes
Other editable tools will depend on the design and function of your specific website, and the type of page template you have decided to create or edit.
When editing most pages you will seethe content spaces replaced by an editor box. We refer to this editor box as a WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get).
You can use the WYSIWYG to:
- Add textual content
- Format the textual content (make it bold, italics, change it to different styles, fonts and sizes)
- Add images
- Embed content from 3rd party websites, such as videos from YouTube or maps from Google.
Find out more about how to use the WYSIWYG Editor.
If you are editing a normal content page, you will usually have an option to display a column (usually on the right side of the page) into which you can add "panels".
Panels are small boxes that contain content, images or functions that help people to use your site.
Read more about how to add, edit and arrange panels.
Previewing the page
You can preview the content as you edit it. Simply click the Preview button at any time, and a copy of the page will open in a new tab (or new window). Remember to close this tab to return to the page you are editing. Only you can see page previews, other users cannot see the changes you are making until it is published.
If you decide not to save the changes you make, click Discard changes. All changes will be lost.
When you have finished editing the page content click Save changes. This will save the page but will not publish it. If you have publishing rights, you will be shown a link to publish the page. If you don't have publishing rights you will not be allowed to publish the page.